Fulfilling Sexual Needs “On The Rag”

Believe it or not, there are women who still have (or even heightened) sexual needs during their period. I’m a firm believer that as long as you’re in the “mood” for sexual release, your period should not stand in the way. As I’ve mentioned many times, for women who suffer with cramps, orgasms have been a known form of cramp alleviation. Due to the nature of the contractions of vaginal muscles during orgasm, it helps loosen things up and sets off circulation of “happy hormones” which have a long-lasting effect. With my ex, after an orgasm, her cramps would go away for hours before they bothered her again. For many of my non-menstrual community members, many of you may be set off about pleasuring your female partner during her period. There are many non-penetrative or alternative methods to get her off, with some methods, not even requiring you to “get dirty” so to speak. It’s kind of unfair to love her vagina every day of the month other than her period days. You should love it just as much, if not even more, when she’s menstruating!

One of the things I’m told by menstruating women is that most of time, they have no mood to even be thinking about orgasming. Of course, these are all personal choices. However, for those who do have the mood, one of the spoiling factors may be the thought of making a mess. Sex/masturbation on your period won’t exactly cause your period to stop (seems like most people think water-pressure stops your period in the pool), but it’s a great way to treat your body right! I’m sure for many of us who are reading this, we know the wonders of an orgasm, so why not during your period too? Contractions during orgasm also forces menstrual flow from your cervix to come out quicker. Although I hear that it “makes periods shorter” I think I would rather safely say that it helps clean the uterus better but not necessarily whether it would make one’s period shorter. Some women even experience better and stronger orgasms during their period, so who wouldn’t want that?!

Here are some thoughts about “taking care of things yourself” which other women have shared with me that may be of interest:

  • Masturbate in the shower with whatever preferred method, there’s no mess to clean up as it goes all down the drain.
  • Masturbate through your pad/panties for clitoral stimulation – whether by hand or using a toy – the pad will absorb both your flow and vaginal secretions. When you’re done, you can just wrap and toss!
  • If you use sex toys, it can keep your hands clean, but menstrual flow may still end up going down your leg or on the sheets. Make sure you clean your toy thoroughly after use!
  • If you masturbate on a bed or like object, you can use new/old towels, bed spread or anything that will absorb any vaginal or menstrual flow from your “good” sheets/covers.
  • You can masturbate with a tampon in as long as you are not using other objects to penetrate your vagina as that may cause discomfort and pain from forcing the tampon up.
  • Masturbating with your fingers is perfectly acceptable as long as proper hygiene is adhered. Your menstrual flow and menstruating vagina is nothing to be ashamed of at all.
  • If you’re a bit concerned about menstrual flow on your fingers, you can put a condom over the finger(s) which you would insert
  • Using menstrual cups or sponges is similar to the use of a tampon when masturbating. As advantageous as they are, care should be taken not to force the cup or sponge beyond what feels comfortable.
  • Don’t neglect other areas of your body, such as your nipples which may be more sensitive during your period. There are many erogenous zones of the female body such as behind the ears, neck and thighs.

Just before I continue onto the next section, I think some people feel that the “thought” of considering masturbation or sex during one’s period is normal. I’ve read so many forum/question headers that have asked, “Is it normal to masturbate on my period?” – YES, YES it is! Masturbating ON or OFF your period is a healthy thing to do.

So have you ever considered sex on your (or your partner’s) period? If so, many of the hints given above might be a good precursor when considering “sex on the rag”. Let’s take a look at some of the following thoughts that I have concerning sex when the river runs red:

  • Oral and anal sex is an option for those who really don’t enjoy menstrual sex.
  • Mutual masturbation or foreplay can be a lead in to further sex or to enjoy a non-messy night.
  • Use old sheets or covers on top of the bed/couch to prevent stains from menstrual flow, vaginal secretion or ejaculation.
  • Care should be taken to remember to remove menstrual cups, sponges or tampons when penetrative sex is desired.
  • Certain sexual positions may minimize “leakage” of menstrual flow if you’re trying to keep things clean, experiment to find the most desirable one(s).
  • Menstrual flow can act as a lubricant as well, so it might save you some money :P
  • Dental dams may be used for safe cunnilingus to prevent STD’s or for those who’d rather just not have menstrual flow in their mouths while being able to continue to orally pleasure their partner.
  • If you ejaculate into your partner during her period, she won’t have to worry about taking care of residue semen as it will otherwise leak back onto her pad, tampon or other menstrual product.

Of course after all this is said, don’t forget that safety is paramount. If there’s any discomfort during menstrual sex, it should stop at once. Furthermore, menstrual fluid carries viruses just like other bodily fluids, therefore both partners should be aware of each others health statuses. Furthermore, sex during her period does not mean pregnancy isn’t possible.

While I wouldn’t claim this to be an exhaustive list, it will hopefully pave the way for you and your partner to talk about whether menstrual sex is right for you. If one partner is into it and the other not, perhaps some compromise can be made. If neither partner are interested, then perhaps it gives a future opportunity to explore that avenue. If both partners are interested, then great since you’re probably well on your way already! Masturbation during one’s period can bring a heightened experience of orgasms and sexual interest. It also allows an individual to be in touch with their body and to feel comfortable with the idea of menstruation and masturbation, neither of which need to be exclusive of each other. I can understand that women may experience discomfort, pain or perhaps even lack of libido during their periods and that’s fine. I only hope to share with you my thoughts through experience and through anecdotes from others.

In a more roundabout way, the willingness to masturbate during one’s period may assist them with being more period-positive or at the very least, body-positive! Every menstruator deserves to have their bodies respected and not only cast aside just because a bit of blood is coming out (and seriously, it really is just a bit). Speaking for myself, I can’t deny my love for women (or well, womAn, but “women” in general) in their entirety, so it’d be very unfair to say, “Well I like your vagina only 20 or so days in a month, otherwise I don’t want to go near it!” I know not everyone will agree with that, but everything is worth a try at least once (or at least things which are safe to do so). Menstrual masturbation or menstrual sex can help form even a stronger relationship between you, your body and your partner – and to enhance love for periods and the appreciation of menstruation!

About Prexus Swyftwynd

Probably not a good idea for you to know anything about me....

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Periodtastic, TMI Corner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Menstruation is about the only time I want sex – hormonal changes, increased vaginal awareness, my love of menstruation leading to a more ‘animal on heat’ sensuality within me…plus during menstruation my Asperger’s ‘symptoms’ become less pronounced so during my period I actually want to be affectionate with my boyfriend for a change, lol.

    Sex is MUCH better for me during my period – deeper more fulfilling orgasms all round – masturbation isn’t a problem, blood is easily cleaned-up and I prefer blood to get all over me as it feels more…natural?…animal?…but vaginal intercourse is more tricky down to EXCESSIVE flow making a mess of the bed, thus I wait for a light day and then use a diaphragm as a menstrual cup for vaginal intercourse (never tried soft tampons, and Softcups didn’t work for me…plus an ex felt the softcup once – he FREAKED!).

    • Hi Jay,

      Thanks for your insightful reply! It’s great that there are people around who make the best of their period like yourself :D See that’s why I always spread the idea that menstruation is awesome, haha. I completely agree that women are much more in-tune with their body when their period comes! It’s a free and monthly method for them to gauge their overall health too. And of course, what’s better for the partner of the menstruator that she’s extra sensual and “ready to go”! I wish my bebe was more affectionate with me when she’s on her period, haha… I think there are times when I can sense her being weakened emotionally around me when she’s on her period, but alas, she’s not at the point where she wants me when the crimson tide rolls it :lol: Maybe that’ll change in the future as she’s more sexually-aware of her body and lets me treat her right :P

      I heard that menstrual flow can be productive and counterproductive during penetrative sex. Some say it acts as lube and others say the stickiness causes unnecessary resistance during the motion of “in and out”. I personally find the thought of menstrual masturbation quite sexy not so much the act or menstruation, but that it shows the woman is in-touch with her own body and that itself is sexy. There’s nothing more beautiful than a woman who’s not fearful of herself, feels confident, is open-minded to exploration and knows herself better than anyone else! I think the only time I truly “fear” blood is when the blood is not clean as of course blood is a carrier of many diseases and viruses. For someone who’s blood I know is ‘safe’ it doesn’t scare me at all (unless it’s an injury where I would worry for that person).

      Sex during one’s period can be quite messy and that’s why the shower is always a nice option, or just a nice heavy covering to prevent staining on the “good” sheets or whatnot. Although it is not “recommended” to use something like a sea sponge during penetrative sex, I’m thinking whether that would be a rather nice feeling for the guy and while still maintaining a degree of menstrual protection! I’m not sure whether I’m that well-endowed to be able to push that far in to feel a softcup unless it was falling out or something, lol. I would definitely not recommend the soft tampons during sex, something just doesn’t seem right about that… even though I’m not a doctor. I don’t doubt it might be a bit taunting for a guy to be pushing his penis in and then slamming it on a tough surface, haha!

  2. bloodbath.virgincide

    You’re a sick.evil fuck.

  3. This is a great article! More men (and women) who are hesitant about sexual activity during menstruation should read this. Sex during that time of the month can be just as great, if not better, than during other times of the month. It’s also very true, at least for me, that having an orgasm relieves the pain of menstrual cramps and headaches, and it’s much more effective than just taking some ibuprofen. A happy, pain-free woman can make for a happy man, so I highly recommend that people give it a shot!

  4. So i CAN masterbate while wearing a tampon? What if i orgasm? Will there be blood everywhere?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

