The Day Before Back to Work

Hi Again,

Thought I’d give you guys a break about listening to my period-rants, lol. I was considering changing the name of my blog to a more generic name so I can sometimes blog some personal stuff on here, but oh well, I rather like the catchy name and I can still put in personal postings whenever I feel like it. So here we are today… the day before I return to work. Looks like it’ll be back to waking up for 8 A.M, arg – although it’ll be my ‘first day at work for 2010’…. it barely feels like a new year. This year, New Years Eve was not very exciting… we stayed at home, although given the chaos during Christmas, we were all burnt out. Last year’s Christmas was much more exciting as we spent it on our balcony in Hong Kong, much more festive and surrounded by family! I can’t wait to go back the end of this year, hopefully I can find some cheap flights.

It is snowing right now… not a lot, but it is ASS COLD – I shit you not. I walked from the car to the entrance of the supermarket and my skin was frozen. When the wind is idle, it is actually pretty warm outside… but once the wind picks up, it feels like ice is being embedded onto your skin! I was trying to find some jojoba oil and sure enough, it costs almost $16 for like 120ml’s… are you friggin serious? That’s like me pissing in a bottle, handing it to you and telling you it costs $50! They really need to make these so-called “organic” things cost less… maybe people would actually BUY them. Recently, they closed down an entire section of “organics” probably because turnover was low and they couldn’t make it worth their while. Do you think your average consumer would pay like triple the price for something that was organic? It’s better to sell something cheaper and be able to sell it, than to sell something expensive and NOT be able to sell it.

So today… my aunt and uncle were supposed to come to visit. We waited for 3 hours and then they called telling us it was too late into the day and decided not to come. I hate when plans fail, it defeats the whole purpose of a PLAN. I’m an organizer, what can I say? I like to plan things and carry things out. I try to avoid being a last-minute person, although my friends constantly like to call me up at the most unsuitable times to ask me if I’m available for things. It isn’t that I can’t be spontaneous, but there are many things in life that work better when it’s planned. It’s fine if you call me an hour ahead and ask me if I want to go out for a snack or something, but it’s not ok to tell me that you’re planning a party, want me to arrange/make things and expect me to be able to do it in 20 minutes.

Having lived here for so many years, I am still not used to the North American mentality of family bonding. I’m 24 and I think I’m one of the few my age of people I know who still do things with their family on a regular basis. I don’t consider myself a Mommy’s or Daddy’s boy, however, I rather like doing things with my parents. Suffice to say, that does not discount me from spending time with friends as well, but NA society greatly differs from your general Asian culture and populace. When I was younger, there was a lot of shame and humiliation placed on spending time with parents. Very unfortunate, given the fact that family is really the one thing you’ll have when all hell breaks loose. I love my parents and I don’t see a reason why I shouldn’t and why in order for me to be “socially acceptable” to not spend time with them, whether doing a family activity or simply running weekly errands such as buying groceries. I think people have lost idea of what a “family unit” is supposed to mean…

I was thinking about picking up a book to read for myself in the next while… called “The Little Red Book” by Rachel Kauder Nalebuff. If anyone has any comments or reviews about it, please feel free to let me know! Speaking of which, I started a new album on my facebook with all the hilarious conversations that I find myself being a part of… quite amusing to say the least. Looks like it’ll be my new hobby for the next while other than reading the book, lol!

About Prexus Swyftwynd

Probably not a good idea for you to know anything about me....

Posted on January 3, 2010, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This post is really much more useful for the people who believe that these days if we have to go with the contemporary era then knowledge is the most important piller in each and every area. So this post gives us so many knowledge and we people are very thankful to you for providing us this useful post.

  2. I agree with most of what is said here.

Leave a Reply

