My Little Red Book

Yep, so I actually bought it… or well, at least the eBook version of it (which I must add, considerably cheaper than printed-copy). I purchased the book “My Little Red Book” by Rachel Kauder Nalebuff. Honestly, this must have been first book I’ve truly read since I graduated from post-secondary, lol. I used to be an avid reader, but as I got absorbed into gaming, my time to stare at text on a piece of paper and flipping through it waned. Although I won’t be flipping through the pages in the book, I will be doing so by hitting the “right arrow” key on my keyboard or using my fingers to slide the screen over to the next page on my iPhone.

I’ve began reading the book already and has already sparked my interest. As you can tell, my commitment to gaining knowledge and insight about this topic is strong, since this is breaking my “no books” streak since 2005. Whether that makes me crazy or dedicated is up to you decide, I don’t really care.

Here’s the excerpt of the book from the CHAPTERS site:

From the Publisher

MY LITTLE RED BOOK is an anthology of stories about first periods, collected from women of all ages from around the world. The accounts range from light-hearted (the editor got hers while water skiing in a yellow bathing suit) to heart-stopping (a first period discovered just as one girl was about to be strip-searched by the Nazis). The contributors include well-known women writers (Meg Cabot, Erica Jong, Gloria Steinem, Cecily von Ziegesar), alongside today”s teens. And while the authors …+ read moreMY LITTLE RED BOOK is an anthology of stories about first periods, collected from women of all ages from around the world. The accounts range from light-hearted (the editor got hers while water skiing in a yellow bathing suit) to heart-stopping (a first period discovered just as one girl was about to be strip-searched by the Nazis). The contributors include well-known women writers (Meg Cabot, Erica Jong, Gloria Steinem, Cecily von Ziegesar), alongside today”s teens. And while the authors differ in race, faith, or cultural background, their stories share a common bond: they are all accessible, deeply honest, and highly informative. Whatever a girl experiences or expects, she”ll find stories that speak to her thoughts and feelings.

Ultimately, MY LITTLE READ BOOK is more than a collection of stories. It is a call for a change in attitude, for a new way of seeing periods. In a time when the taboo around menstruation seems to be one of the few left standing, it makes a difficult subject easier to talk about, and helps girls feel proud instead of embarrassed or ashamed. By revealing what it feels like to undergo this experience first hand, and giving women the chance to explain their feelings in their own words, it aims to provide support, entertainment, and a starting point for discussion for mothers and daughters everywhere. It is a book every girl should have. Period.

So looks like this is the read I’m going to be doing for the next while. Mind you the book itself is quite short, only 240 pages… however, it’s about all the reading experience that counts, not the length. Before you mock me for reading a book like this, consider the fact that Howard Gardner (Professor of Cognition and Education, Harvard University, and author of Multiple Intelligences) read and reviewed the book. If you cannot tell, that is a MALE reader/reviewer, so if anything, let me be the next male to read it. I’m sure I’ll find plenty of good content from the book and make relevance of it on my blog. However, fear not, I will still continue my usual personal-postings every once in a while and any other topics I had listed to touch-base on in the near future. The topic is vast, so I doubt I’ll run out of things to talk about!

Nevertheless, I’m going to sit back now and do a couple more pages before going sleepy-sleep! Night everyone.

– K

About Prexus Swyftwynd

Probably not a good idea for you to know anything about me....

Posted on January 16, 2010, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Like Chicken Soup for PMS soul? 😛

    • HAH, I think it is like part “funny” and part “experiences”… I guess it could actually be like Chicken Soul for the Menstruating Soul 😛 I’m like 1/4 of the way through today, it is pretty kick-ass… I’m normally not into paying for stuff and all and would’ve gotten it from the library or something, but I heard it was really good so I wanted to support the author and pay for the purchase… and now I’ll have it forever and unlike ‘books’ I don’t have to worry about losing it, getting it dirty or ripping the pages… I was reading it on my iPhone this afternoon — so lazy, haha.

  1. Pingback: My Little Red Book « Health

Leave a Reply

