Got something that is red, but not my period! It is a….

new digital camera!!! 😀

It is so damn sexy, I love it! It is a Nikon Coolpix L110 and these are the spec overview:

Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Low resolution 3968 x 2232, 3264 x 2448, 2592 x 1944, 2048 x 1536, 1024 x 768, 640 x 480
Image ratio w:h 4:3, 16:9
Effective pixels 12.2 million
Sensor photo detectors 12.4 million
Sensor size 1/2.3 ” (6.16 x 4.62 mm, 0.28 cm²)
Pixel density 43 MP/cm²
Sensor type CCD
Sensor manufacturer Unknown
ISO rating Auto, Auto gain ISO 80-800, 80, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, (3200, 6400 with boost)
Zoom wide (W) 28 mm
Zoom tele (T) 420 mm (15 x)
Digital zoom Yes, 4x
Image stabilization Yes, Sensor-shift
Auto Focus TTL
Manual Focus Yes
Normal focus range 60 cm
Macro focus range 1 cm
White balance override 5 positions plus manual
Aperture range F3.5 – F5.4
Min shutter 8 sec
Max shutter 1/2000 sec
Built-in Flash Yes, (Pop-Up)
Flash range
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Fill-in, Slow Syncro
Exposure compensation -2 to +2 EV in 1/3 EV steps
Metering
Aperture priority No
Shutter priority No
Focal length multiplier
Lens thread
Continuous Drive Yes, 13 fps
Movie Clips Yes, 1280 x 720 (HD 30 fps), 640 x 480 (30 fps), 320 x 240 (30 fps)
Remote control Yes
Self-timer Yes, 3 sec or 10 sec
Timelapse recording Unknown
Orientation sensor Unknown
Storage types SD/SDHC, Internal
Storage included 43 MB Internal
Uncompressed format No
Quality Levels
Viewfinder None
LCD 3 “
LCD Dots 460,000
Live View No
USB USB 2.0 (480Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless No
GPS No
Environmentally sealed No
Battery 4 x AA batteries (Alkaline, NiMH, or Lithium)
Weight (inc. batteries) 406 g (14.3 oz)
Dimensions 109 x 74 x 78 mm (4.3 x 2.9 x 3.1 in)
Notes
Resolution Chart
Colour Patches

Of course this isn’t a DSLR, but with the price I got it at, it’s pretty good for the quality you’d expect! I’ve already spent quite a while playing with it and this is supposed to be a “dummy camera”… because I’m no professional photographer. A couple of people I know told me to get a DSLR because it will still of course produce better quality pictures of “Auto” mode, but truly, I cannot justify getting any type of SLR camera unless I fully intend on learning how to use it properly and not simply leaving it on Auto.

I bought it with a coworker of mine because he specializes in photographic technologies, so thought he’d be an excellent person to come to the store with me to pick it out. Also, because he’s a member, I did get a discount and all 😆

The camera so far has been pretty easy to use, not “requiring” me to have to pick up the manual since the on-screen directions already provide ease-of-access. Perhaps having a bit of technology background, I can navigate through the options, understand the symbols and all that fairly easily. Nevertheless, I have lots to learn and will likely not have learned everything by the time I retire this. The reason why I got a new camera was because the one we used for 8 years is finally giving out. Even after putting completely new batteries in, after about 3-4 shots, it says “Low Battery” and shuts off. A couple of times, it was so defective that the camera didn’t even fully retract the lens in during the middle of a shutdown sequence, so now you can tell why I need a new camera. I was hoping to wait until I went to Hong Kong to get it, but wanted to have a nice camera to use before then. There’s a few big events that are coming up within the next while which would be nice to have a decent resolution camera (the old one was only 4MP) and I purposely got this one for the fact it has HD video recording capabilities (for when I want to make my own sex movies… HAHAHA.. just joking :)).

This was no “cheap” camera… it was expensive as shit and it really took me some time to think and take into consideration whether I want to fork out this kind of money. No doubt, my career does not rely on having a camera, therefore I would not buy a $30,000 camera like photographers would… I’m simply a “point-and-shoot” person and perhaps with a few expectations of features. This will really set my wallet back a bit… looks like I’ll have to eat noodles for the next few months to save up my money again 😦 Anyone spare money for the poor please? I was given the choice of BLACK or RED … and because I found the black to be more of a matte black rather than a metallic red, I chose this one. Heck, so many people have standard black cameras, I thought it’d stand out a bit with my sexy red 😀

Since I had it at work with me, I decided to take a few pictures of my office. These are not the original as obviously I’ve done some compression and down-sizing to accommodate my upload, but I was completely satisfied with the quality the shots produced compared to my old camera, haha.. for obvious reasons.

I’ve used a “medium” sized setting for the display picture and you’re welcome to click on it to get a larger resolution picture. I just didn’t want to eat up everyone’s bandwidth and make my blog a slow-loader 🙂

Yes, the darkness is real... that IS exactly the lighting that I work in...

Doesn't the flash really enhance the picture? My office actually has all the lights off!

The whiteboard serves little purpose, although I decorate it so my boss things I'm actually working =

Books, a fan, certificates, a plant, thank-you cards, meeting notes.. oh the list goes on...

Oh how could I live without multiple monitors? I don't even have my other two set up as I was rearranging my desk!

Ahh.... back into the darkness. The #2 reason why I took this new job (hence the office space) was because it came with a door... and a WINDOW - GLORY!!

Although you're probably staring at the whiteboard, it's the hook on the wall for my jacket that this picture is actually depicting 😀

A solid door, love it... no one knows I'm in and I prefer it that way! It's to keep the damn mobs on the other side.

The view outside my window... it makes a BIG difference in my day!

Now… back to playing with my camera! Hope you guys had an awesome day.

About Prexus Swyftwynd

Probably not a good idea for you to know anything about me....

Posted on May 6, 2010, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wow you lucky bugger! Enjoy your new toy!

  2. Freaking jealous!!! I’m a point-and-shoot person too, can’t be bothered with learning all that tech talk when it comes to using DSLR. I’m lusting over an Olympus E-PL1. Blardy expensive camera. Sigh. I know what you mean about needing to eat noodles lol. If I were to buy that Oly I think I can only eat grass. -_-

    Btw, red is definitely much sexier than black!

    • LOL – total old-school look! This looks the camera my dad left me, has that 1970’s look 😀 That’s still only “mid-consumer” range… not too expensive yet. The one my friend was trying to get our boss to buy was CAD$1,500 (~rm 4660) but we weren’t able to justify when our department needed such a nice camera, haha.

      When’s the last time you bought a new camera though? Maybe nothing to be jealous about because my other one is 8 years old! Last night I had baked potato and fake (lol) fish fillets… can you tell my food menu is starting to go downhill already?!! 😆 I might need to start digging food out of the garbage can or go mooch food off my bebe, haha. I think Malaysian grass tastes better than Canadian grass 😛

      Ya, the more I play with the red, the cooler it is! The finish on it was “too dark” on the black one and it was very rough. This one had a very nice glossy-feeling finished and was soft. Starting to sound like I’m comparing pads, lol… I played around with it so much last night that I have a feel I need to put new batteries in already 😆
      I’m glad you’re dropping by more – sucks when you’re not around! Go find us a game to play 🙂

      • Yeah I’m not a big fan of the Oly’s look either, but the functions seemed really cool for a camera noob like me. Hahaha, I’m all for ease of use! It’s retailing for over RM2k here, and judging by our living standards, it’s really expensive for a non-dslr grade camera. That’s more than 1 month’s salary for most people so yeah, definitely expensive for me.

        I got my camera two years back, before that I was using my 0.3 megapixel phone camera -_- and even way before that I had a camera that uses film! Since it’s still pretty new, I can’t seem to justify the need to buy a new one. Still, I waaaannntttt! Lol!

        I’d rather spend that RM4k plus on a laptop if you ask me. xD Then I’ll be able to look for a kickass game to play that doesn’t kill my laptop. Hahaha.

        • If about rm2000 or so, then it’s about the same price as here. There’s a lot of “technology malls” in Malaysia though, so I imagine you could go to those places and haggle them down to get a better price, haha. For a non-SLR, ya, to pay that kinda price on it is pretty nasty. Did you just say rm2000 is more than a month’s salary? WTF… that covers basic needs here if you’re lucky! I guess of course things are cheaper so maybe spending rm2000 is “a lot”, but then that means a person has to save up for like 2 months to afford a new laptop… that’s NUTS.

          LOL 0.3 megapixel phone… I know what you mean. I had an old Sony Erikson that did 0.3… super old, but it was all I had on me at “all times” since I don’t carry my digicam around unless I had a plan on taking pictures. Don’t buy a new one if your old one still works decently, haha.

          Laptops aren’t really made for gaming… get a cheap laptop and then get a gaming desktop 😀

  3. U bring yur new cam home with u this Christmas ma? I want to play with it xDD

  4. That’s a nice little camera, short of getting a DSLR! You got yourself a cozy little office there too.

Leave a Reply

