Changes to Spending Habits – Living it Large

After returning from Hong Kong, I’ve found myself in living a different lifestyle. Where as I, prior to the trip, would be leary of spending, I am not finding myself spending on things that I would have otherwise spent a long time considering. Suffice to say, I haven’t won the lottery yet or make mounds of cash investing into stocks (again, YET) – but I am starting to utilize the money I’m earning more often and being less thrifty. The reason is not because I want to “show off” or to overindulge in using my money, but rather, something very important my uncle said to me (which I will translate to English). He said, “I am rich because I spend my money, not because I have lots of it. A rich person, is one who uses his money and enjoys it, regardless of his existing wealth. A poor person, is one who does not use his money and sits it in the bank, regardless of his existing wealth. When one uses money usefully, he (or she) is rich. When one does not use their money, no matter how much is in the bank, he (or she) is poor.

I have a habit of saving – saving for a rainy day and saving for my future family. I save a lot of money suffice to say and I’d wager every year (since I’ve been working), I’ve been storing just over 50% of my take home pay. I invest it, into my RRSP, into my supplementary pension plan, into my cash-able life insurance, into my TFSA and into stocks/funds. On good years, my investment income usually supplies me with 2-3 tickets of airfare to Hong Kong, so the reality is I could go there every year if I wanted to, and I may soon turn that into a reality.

But anyways, back onto my point. I’ve been living it large lately. I want to realize those dreams of “being rich” – not necessarily because I have lots of money, but because life is about enjoyment, making your comfortable and utilizing the resources that you have. Since I’ve returned, in the past 2 weeks I have been spending money more lavishly. This is particularly true with luxury items and with food. I also learned another very important aspect of Hong Kong lifestyle is that they invest majorly into 1 or both of the following: clothing and food. I’m not particularly interested in clothing, so I have adopted the 2nd, food. Another thing my uncle taught me, “You should learn that eating is not about filling your stomach the most for the least money. Food is about quality, not quantity. Therefore, you should aim to eat small portions of good food, rather than be concerned with feeling full by eating lesser foods.” My uncle is truly full of wisdom and he has both a Canadian and Hong Kong lifestyle perspective as he’s lived in both places. He does understand the need of why I save, but also encourages me to utilize money effectively and that does not necessarily equate to saving it all.

In the past 2 weeks, I’d say that I’ve already bought, or consider buying items that I would have taken a long time to justify and rationalize. Just over the weekend, I walked into Future Shop and bought a Wii Fit Plus. I did do some prior bargain hunting, but to no avail. I could’ve waited – but I didn’t… I just went out and bought it. Sure, it cost $20 more than if I waited for the next sale, but I want it NOW – and I got it. The computer and monitor rack that I got for bebe for her birthday, I wanted to give her my old video card so she could play her games and watch HD movies – but instead, I am now buying her a new video card. Why? Because I can and that she deserves it. Also, what kind of terrible boyfriend would I be, one who is a computer guy and giving his girl outdated stuff? 😛 I promised I’d buy myself a new pistol or rifle every year. I put one on order, a nice new revolver for me to play around with 😀 I used to fiddle with my iPhone headset every time I got into the car so I could legally use my phone (as it is outlawed in Ontario to hold a communication device while driving) and got tired of it – so I got myself a Bluetooth headset – and a nice one too, that responds to voice activation/commands AND is also capable of multiple language sets… of course I chose Cantonese 😆

As you can see, I’m spend less time thinking and more time buying! I know that the moral of the story goes both ways here. Some will say, “Hey, great, you’re satisfying your wants.” while others will spit in disgust and say that I’m wasting money needlessly. Also, in the next while, I will be installing a fireplace in my computer room so I’m nice, warm and cozy while I play, chat or do work on my computer! Yes, that’s right, I want to be luxurious and enjoy the money I’m earning. It wasn’t that I’m cheap on others, I tend just to be cheap on myself. I’ve spent more money on bebe than I have on any other girl I’ve dated… perhaps I dare say I’ve spent more on her than I have with all of my ex’s put together, LOL! I’m not quantifying my love for her via how much money I spend on her, but more of the fact she makes me feel and want to spend money on her. I spend money on my family and friends as well, because I don’t mind. We go out for nice meals, do costly activities – but still, I’m only cheap when it comes to myself. I’m turning that around – I want to be the one enjoying the fruition of the seeds which I have sewn myself.

I guess I’m a bit old fashion and perhaps that alpha-male part of me kicks in when I’m with bebe. By spending money on her and also, showing that I have financial stability is an implicit sign that I’m able to “take care of her”.. I mean this is TOTALLY 1950’s mentality, haha, but still, it’s born into us guys where we feel the need to have to ‘display’ ourselves and ‘prove’ that we’re capable. I’m not trying to bribe bebe with money or throw money at her in hopes of winning her love, but what I’m trying to do is to show that at the very least, I can be a successful boyfriend and future husband who can provide for her if necessary. I know I think “a bit farther ahead” because I’m older than she is and have different paths I want to walk in life, but the reality is that I don’t want to have a huge margin of income with her – which is the reality given both our careers. I have a very important topic I’d like to write on in the near future, the idea of social status and individual prestige, which will make what sense of what I’m trying to express above.

I’m already looking at the posted transactions that are coming through on my credit card already! This is probably the most I’ve spent in a while (not including on my trip) and there will be more to come. I work hard during the day and even after hours, so isn’t it at least right of me to come home and be submersed into comfort and luxury? I don’t earn my money for nothing or to leave it in the bank while they trade my money around to earn money for themselves!

I’m rich, because I’m using my money to generate happiness. I am no longer poor, because my monetary wealth is bringing my lasting wealth through enjoyment and fulfillment of wants! Even when I bring happiness to bebe it makes me smile, so the wealth is not only spent on me, but her as well… us, both our families and hopefully soon, our very own family 😀

I’m in a very loving mood tonight, so even though my bebe is not around with me right now, if she ever asks me how much I love her … then I can answer her with THIS much! 😛

Teresa Teng (鄧麗君) – The Moon Represents My Heart (月亮代表我的心)


And… because UMG are a bunch of cock-sucking retards, you have to go on YouTube directly to watch it.

你 问 我 爱 你 有 多 深
You ask me how deep I love you

我 爱 你 有 几 分?
How much I love you

我的 情 也 真,
My feeling is true

我的 爱 也 真,
My love is true

月亮 代表 我的 心。
Moon represents my heart

你 问 我 爱 你 有 多 深
You ask me how deep I love you

我 爱 你 有 几 分?
How much I love you

我的 情 不 移,
My feeling is steadfast

我的 爱 不 变,
My love is constant

月亮 代表 我的 心。
Moon represents my heart

轻轻 的 一个 吻
A tender kiss

已经 打动 我的 心。
Already touch my heart

深深 的 一段 情
A deep love

教 我 思念 到 如今。
Makes me miss till now

你 问 我 爱 你 有 多 深
You ask me how deep I love you

我 爱 你 有 几 分?
How much I love you

你 去 想 一 想
You go think about it

你 去 看 一 看
You go have a look

月亮代表我的心。
Moon represents my heart

你去想一想
You go think about it

你去看一看
You go have a look

月亮代表我的心。
Moon represents my heart

About Prexus Swyftwynd

Probably not a good idea for you to know anything about me....

Posted on January 25, 2011, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wah, not onli u change lifestyle coz u spend more, but u also so busy!

    U already hv to go to work, then deal w/ yur own business… and then study for yur certification exam… then take your Putonghua courses… then work out daily on-schedule T__T How hv so much time meh? How do u even concentrate on so much at a time? LOL!

    [but instead, I am now buying her a new video card. Why? Because I can and that she deserves it] … wei, such spoiling ar? Watch out! U spoil her too much n’ the one time u say ‘no’ to smthg, she will be super angry 😛 She won’t give u sex for days n’ u slp on the couch 😆 Either that… or u’ll be eating out all the time until u mk her happy again… kekeke. Best not to set an example now n’ let her get used to a balance life which u want her to adopt to.

    When u mk bebe happy, yur probably more happy than when u buy pads/tampons to test xDD And if there r things tht mk u more happier than that, must be VERY high value, haha.

    • I can’t concentrate, that’s the thing, LOL. My job and business is easy to handle, it’s more “time consuming” than HARD. Mandarin courses are ok because the pace is slow, 1 chapter a day. The first day I did multiple sections because it was an easy start and now I have to slow down and review new chapters since they’re more difficult. Sometimes I trip on words, almost like tongue is tied or not sure how to even make the sound 😆 But slowly, I will learn! Past 2 days extra busy because of the 60-780 course… but now it’s done and I just have to study at my own pace for the exam. I just did 45 minute workout today… my abs hurt, my legs hurt, my back hurts and my arms hurt, LOL…

      Ok sure, I admit I spoil her a bit (fine, maybe a lot) – but still, for some odd reason I ENJOY and WILLINGLY spoil her, it makes me feel good, haha. I’m not sure why I like spending money on her, especially when I’m one of those people who take a lot of time rationalizing whether I want to spend it. When it comes to her, something just clicks in my mind and tell me ‘just do it!’ Ya, I know over-spoiling is bad an also sets a precedence for expectations… don’t know how to curb it though, LOL. I’m sure she’s an understanding-enough of a person to know what’s right and what’s wrong – I don’t worry that she takes advantage of me. Haha ya, that seems to what girls threaten guys with all the time, “no sex” and then we’re so afraid 😛 Che, maybe she’s the one who can’t survive without sex, not me XD Sleeping on the couch is ok, I do that a lot now, used to it already 😀

      Yes, lol, bebe’s one smile or glimpse of happiness is worth more than all the pads and tampons in the world 😆 DUH! HAHA. She does do a lot of things for me, even though sometimes not visibly, I know that I hold a special spot in her heart… it’s just a matter of her feeling comfortable enough to become vulnerable to me! After all, love is all about becoming completely defenseless and unprotected to each other… that’s the only time that true love flourishes!

  2. Urg.. wut did u do? I think u broke one of my posts… lolz! Smthg seems wrong…

    • Ya.. something I did last night with comments, lol… I was trying to roll something back and push forward something, and ended up things went a little awry so I had to do an emergency recovery. Dates/times for some of the more recent things may be a bit off now, but hey, at least I didn’t LOSE anything. 😆

Leave a Reply

