Canada: Possible Entry of Stayfree Thermocontrol Pads

So on Wednesday of last week, I was really running low on supplies to experiment with, so I decided to grab the “best” deal I could find at the time. I’m not even going to mention the price, because it’s pretty outrageous, but alas, it was better than getting no deal at all. Of course just to mock me even more, SDM had a 3-day sale (in which I ended up buying another pack) over the weekend JUST after I bought them during the weekday at the less-than-admirable price.

Stayfree Overnight Ultra Thin w/ Thermocontrol (Front)

Stayfree Overnight Ultra Thin w/ Thermocontrol (Front)

Although I was not very happy with the price, I did notice something unusual about the pack of pads I picked up. There was something… different about it, I could feel it when I picked it up. All of a sudden, I noticed that the pads were reduced to FOURTEEN (14) pads per pack rather than the usual SIXTEEN (16). I looked closer and although the general shape and design of the packaging stayed the same, after a moment, the difference surfaced (now you know how well I know my pads/tampons & packaging, even 2 less pads in a pack and I can feel it, lol). If you haven’t noticed by now what’s different (I suppose only the Canadians would notice), it is that they have now upgraded to the Thermo Control technology!!!

A while ago, I had emailed Johnson & Johnson regarding when they had plans to bring the new Thermo Control pads to Canada in which they replied that they did not have any set date. Although looking around on the shelves, it seems like that the Thermo Control pads by Stayfree aren’t exactly arriving “full force” yet on the shelves, just seeing a shipment to a single Rexall store already means that it’s entering the market. Many other places might not have noticeable Thermo Control pads yet since they may still be bringing in pre-ordered stock or whatever they still have left in the warehouses. Hopefully being able to get this pack of Thermo Control in Canada is an indicator that the full fledgling of Stayfree Thermo Control pads will hit Canada soon, just as how they slowly introduced the Always Extra Heavy Overnight pads very slowly.

Stayfree Overnight Ultra Thin w/ Thermocontrol (Top)

Stayfree Overnight Ultra Thin w/ Thermocontrol (Top)

In general, the “features” and “highlights” of the pad and packaging hasn’t changed, however, with the introduction of the Thermo Control technology from Stayfree, it now boasts some key points. I’m sure if they bring the full line of Thermo Control pads to Canada, bebe will also be very happy as well 🙂

The Thermo Control logo is encircled by the 3 objectives: Dry, Cool & Comfortable – along with the description that, “[Thermocontrol is] inspired by high performance athletic fabrics.” I have also mentioned that I found the amount of scenting on the Thermo Control pads are much less than the regular line of Stayfree – a thing I complained a lot about. While having looked at Stayfree Canada’s site once again, it still does not appear to be bringing in the Thermo Control lines in full yet, so maybe it’s just luck I managed to get a pack of this or maybe it really is a hint! The Canadian Stayfree site is still currently listing all the original packaging and does not advertise anything about the existence/implementation of the Thermo Control pads.

Stayfree Overnight Ultra Thin w/ Thermocontrol (Side)

Stayfree Overnight Ultra Thin w/ Thermocontrol (Side)

After the purchase, I immediately decided to test them and sure enough, they didn’t prove disappointing at all. The Thermo Control technology really did make the top-layer more comfortable (although unusually cool), but when it came to the overall absorbency and other properties of the pad, there didn’t seem to be much difference. Also, all the newer Overnight Ultra Thins now have a set of rear-wings as well, so you can easily tell whether you purchased old stock or new stock.

Anyways, although the price was quite expensive, I’m glad I “stumbled” to this particular Rexall that started stocking the Thermo Control pads and for this discovery. Had I purchased anywhere else, I wouldn’t have found this out since several of the stores I went to afterward still had the traditional Stayfree line up and not of the new Thermo Control. Luckily I snagged another (the LAST) bag of Stayfree Maxi Long Supers at Shoppers Drug Mart on Saturday afternoon, so it did kind of make-up for overpaying beforehand.

Looks like all we can do is hope that they start selling in-mass the Thermo Control pads here in Canada, so we can get caught up with the rest of the world when it comes to feminine hygiene 😆

(I was having some major battery issues with my digital camera and ended up taking the pictures using my iPhone 4 camera… not the greatest, but done its job!)

About Prexus Swyftwynd

Probably not a good idea for you to know anything about me....

Posted on May 10, 2011, in Periodtastic, TMI Corner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Stayfree is on sale at Walmart. They are bonus packs , so for 40 overnights it’s 6.97 and 48 regular pads. I think it’s good, how much are the big packs anyways?

    • Is tht a cheap deal Prexus? U shuld stock up for me n’ bring them ovr when u cm bk home xDD I likey!!

    • Hrm, I just got some Stayfree 16’s with Bebe this past weekend @ 1.99/ea. So that’d be 12.43 cents per pad. The Walmart deal 17.43 cents per pad. I suppose I wouldn’t consider that a “great” deal, but definitely a GOOD deal. Even if I compare the Maxi Long Supers we got to the 48-regulars, it’s still 14.52 cents per pad, still our 1.99 deal was still superior 😛

      16 regular or 32 for jumbo packs of Stayfree Overnight Ultra Thins to answer your other question. If it’s something like 40 or whatever, must be modified jumbo packs.

      Go pick up the Always Leakguard Odour-Lock ones and tell me how they are 😀

      Am’s… I suppose it’s a reasonable deal, but I’ll wait until another $1.99 deal and stock some for you to bring back. You better have some Sofy/Kotex Whites waiting for me, HAH!

Leave a Reply

