Buying Imported/Foreign Maxi Pads(Sanitary Napkins) and Tampons

Yay, another periodtastic post – it has certainly been a while since I’ve been writing an entry completely on topic. In the past, I’ve received some questions about where I get my hands on foreign pads/napkins and tampons.

(Sofy 蘇菲) Because what good sanitary napkin advertisement could do without a cute Asian girl? 😛

In general, if you’re living in Canada, you’re going to have some pretty rough time with getting access to pads outside of the domestic brands such as Always (Pads/Liners), Kotex (Pads/Liners/Tampons), Carefree (Liners), Stayfree (Pads), O.B. (Tampons), Playtex (Tampons), and Tampax (Tampons). Also, you will likely find an assortment of store-brand pads, tampons or liners such as Selection, Life, No Name, KDL, Femtex, Incognito, Julia and Equate brands. There are also some organic brands such as Natracare (Pads/Liners/Tampons), 7th Generation (Pads/Liners/Tampons) and Asana (Pads) which are slowly coming into a more prominent market. There are many online retailers too who sell feminine hygiene products that are beginning to sell Divacup (Menstrual Cups), Instead (Menstrual Cups), The Keeper (Menstrual Cups/Cloth Pads), Pleasure Puss Wash ‘n’ Wear (Cloth Pads), LunaPads (Cloth Pads) and other smaller brands/home-made alternatives.

Suffice to say, most of my experience with foreign pads would be when I’m on vacation, mainly in Hong Kong. Sometimes dollar stores will also be nice enough to stock some pads/tampons from other countries. My largest target I check for foreign pads/tampons are generally Asian supermarkets (well I’m Asian, so it only makes sense)! I often find an assortment of pads from Vietnam and India, world-wide brands such as Kotex and Always – however, much different than the ones we see here in Canada. Because these products are imported, the cost of them are generally higher so I try to limit my purchases with them. The other day when I was with my bebe, I did see some Elis pads on sale, but they were $8-$9 CAD for a mere 18!! I still plan on trying them, however, I have to find the opportunity when I can make this purchase. Other than stores, another easy method to acquire non-local products is of course, the internet. Distance is not even an issue when it comes to getting products, for instance, the Always Maxi Pads Overnight Extra Heavy Flow is sold in the US, just a mere 80km’s from my house, but not in Canada! Certainly, there are even a few products sold in the US that are not available here…. nor will big online retailers like Amazon actually ship it to Canada – weird. Perhaps the manufactures have some kind of agreement to restrict the pads from being sold outside a certain reason, although it doesn’t seem to make any sense since providing more products just means an extra opportunity to make money – but oh well.

(Kotex 高潔絲) GLEEMS!!! Kotex Whites from HK - woohooo 😀 I lurv these, thx.

So anyways… to answer those who have asked me some of my “sources” of feminine hygiene products, here you go. Please note that your local store may or may not carry these products so this is strictly for reference only. Just for fun :P, I’ve highlighted the ones I still want to/have to try and will also mark a (F) besides ones that not domestic version of the brand:

Store Resources

Fortinos/Real Canadian Superstore

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Carefree
  • Selection
  • Kotex
  • Natracare

Shoppers Drug Mart

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Carefree
  • Life
  • Kotex

Rexall/Pharma Plus

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Carefree
  • Rexall
  • Kotex

Metro

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Carefree
  • Selection
  • Kotex

Price Chopper

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Carefree
  • Selection
  • Kotex

No Frills

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Carefree
  • Selection
  • Kotex

Costco

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Kotex

Food Basics

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • O.B.
  • Stayfree
  • Carefree
  • Value
  • Kotex

Giant Tiger

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • Playtex
  • KDL
  • Femtex
  • Incognito

T&T Supermarket (Central Parkway, Mississauga | Milliken, Scarborough | Promenade, Thornhill | Warden, Markham)

  • Always
  • Tampax
  • SaraSara Center-In (F)
  • Elis (F)
  • Laurier (F)
  • Sofy (F)
  • Whisper (F – Not available at Mississauga location)

Yuan Ming Supermarket

  • Always (F – Classic version as well)
  • Kotex (F)
  • Stayfree (F – Secure version as well)

H&H Oriental Foods and Hardware

  • Always (F)
  • Kotex (F)
  • KDL
  • No Name (F)

(Laurier 蕾妮亞) .. Gosh, 40cm... Does it have SUPERGUARD? If it does, I'm going to run around in a circle 😀

Online Resources

eBay and iOffer.com and eCrater.com

Search terms I use… Also, in many countries, the terms “maxi pad” isn’t used, so if you’re targeting non-domestic products, use the latter terms:

  • “Maxi Pad”
  • “Tampon”
  • “Sanitary Pad”
  • “Sanitary Napkin”
  • “Sanitary Towel”
  • “Feminine Pad”
  • “Feminine Napkin”
  • “Feminine Towel”
  • “Feminine Hygiene”

Well.ca

  • Always
  • Asana
  • Carefree
  • Kotex
  • Natracare
  • Stayfree
  • Playtex
  • Tampax
  • O.B.
  • Divacup

YumClick

Please pay attention to shipping charges. Although they offer international shipping, shipments are made from Singapore, so unless you live near there or are willing to pay the shipping charges, please be aware.

  • Carefree (F)
  • Laurier (F)
  • Kotex (F)
  • Whisper (F)

Sasa.com

  • FuwaFuwa Center-In (F)
  • Carefree (F)

Webichi.com

  • Elis (F)
  • Natura (F)
  • Laurier (F)
  • Sarasarty (F)
  • SaraSara Center-In (F)
  • Sofy (F)

FairPrice.com.sg

  • Kotex (F)
  • Laurier (F)
  • O.B. (F)
  • Poise (F)
  • Sofy (F)
  • Stayfree (F)
  • Whisper (F)

Cosmelandusa.com

Seriously… if these guys had better Canadian shipping rates, I’d buy them out.. look at all the great stock they have!! ZOMG, my fav brands 😛

  • Elis (F)
  • Laurier (F)
  • Unicharm Center-In (F)
  • Sofy (F)
  • Charm (F)
  • Sarasarty (F)

I think that’s it for now 😀

(Stayfree 蝶安護 w/ 鍾嘉欣 Linda Chung) She looks kind of weird in this picture, although normally Linda is very hot XD

About Prexus Swyftwynd

Probably not a good idea for you to know anything about me....

Posted on April 28, 2010, in Periodtastic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Hello,

    Thank you for commenting on my adult blog http://yourpurepleasure.wordpress.com/ and my complaints about having two periods in one month (so far)

    • Thanks for dropping by… always interesting to blog-jump, can’t even remember how I got there – I’m pretty sure I found yours out of a period-tag or something, lol.. (of course – knowing me). It’s too bad I don’t know more girls who have two periods in a month, it’d be cool.. well not for them of course, but for me 😆

  2. very nice blog!! keep up the good work!!
    PS: check my blog!!! 😛

  3. Kekeke… I noticed u dun really ‘like’ Whisper too much… why ar? It is missing from your “highlight” list as if u dun want to get it.. haha.

    OoooO… u found your fav Kotex White… haha, mebe I get some for u when u come back? How’s that for a “hello” gift? 😀

    • haha, not don’t like, just don’t prefer… too much like Always, blah. haha. I tried a lot of Whisper before la, don’t really want to try anymore – bored.

      YAAA!! Those are HK version of Kotex White ❤ ❤ ❤ forever!! I can't wait until I go back to HK, haha. Amy, you know my 心水 so well 😆 do I get it once I get off the plane? hehehe. I spoke to 2 girls from Msia and 1 from SG and they all say that the HK Kotex version better than local ones. If I don't get to try Elis and Sofy before the end of the year, I will have to try them in HK and ignore Kotex temporarily 😦 I never got to try the Stayfree there that time, because the same brand is offered here – I from what I heard, they were different than ones here so I have to give them a try too. So many to try… 😕 not sure if I can get around to all before I leave! Maybe I need to ship them back… hahaha.

      • ya la, HK Kotex White is very good… dun see why they don’t sell the same ones EVERYWHERE, coz if it’s a good product, why make so many diff products for each particular country? The branding all takes so much money and seems wasteful.

        Of coz I know yur 心水 wor, I could probably list off every one u like without looking at yur list, haha. I hv not been to malaysia b4, but… I’ve been to SG but I never had to buy sanitary napkin there coz I brought my own and it was only for 4 days so I didn’t run out.

        You will have to do lots of testing everyday if u want to try all the diff kinds here 😛 U realli need to send some home, otherwise u will nvr have enuf time 😆

        Poor Whisper…. u dun like them, they must be so sad… KAKAKAKKA! R u out of the ones u have lately? Getting some new ones soon leh? local or going to buy elsewhere?

        • Don’t feel bad for Whisper la, I’m sure they’ll do fine without my business, lol. Ya, pretty much done Always and Stayfree… only like a few left … so, I got some new ones from GT 😀 I’ll wait a few days before I put a review up, haha, let me just say this though: for something that isn’t a big brand name, they are F’ing amazing! When I was at GT, I saw quite a few girls (or.. well, women) buying that brand and from the shelving, you can tell many people buy it. I’m surprized, since all around that one is all the big brand names like Always, Tampax and stuff, so the fact that people rather opt for this one is a good sign!

          Ya, I dunno why they don’t just sell the same stuff everywhere, saves the headache of thinking of new product-lines (that aren’t really that different) just because it is in a different country.

          Well, if you’re so good at knowing what I like, do tell me a few 😆 I know, even if I go for a month, I won’t be able to try everything >_< poopers.

  4. Mmmm… cchhhheeeaaa… so easy leh, can probably even guess the ones you like even if u dun post it b4.

    – Kotex Whites 32cm… or mayb even 41cm now that they hv it
    – Laurier Superguard Extra Long
    – The Saba Overnight thingie… dunno Spanish, so can’t read the name
    – Sofy 超熟睡夜用 42cm
    – Modess All Night
    – Elis Megami 32cm

    So how many I get right? kakakak…

    I’ve been waiting all day to know the ‘new’ brand u bought… wut is it lor? Start writing!!

  5. This really is my first time i visit right here. I found so many interesting stuff inside your weblog particularly its discussion. From the tons of comments on your content articles, I guess I’m not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good function.

  6. hihi….your infos are quite useful…me too like to wear sanitary pad….only brand is sofy night gathers, 45cm long…and those maternity pad which is thick….i used to buy them when i go for holidays…

    • Holiday to where? Which brand of maternity ones?

      Sofy Night Gathers are great, I wonder if they will ever hit the 50cm size, haha.

      • I been to hk two times, to Taiwan, Bangkok & oso Malaysia.. Yaya.. They r very great… First time I bought is at hk n they come in a Pack of 8… And I bought 3 packs… But Nevis I stayed togather with my friends so I need to be very discreet…
        Poise I would choose or tena… But I oso wear baby diapers… They now have size xxl… Like mammy poke in a traveling pack of 2…. I oso bought them when I m on holidae… Or huggies pants…for tat I would recommend Coz it can stretch to max and I can wear it…

  7. happened to fall upon your page and wanted to say that Incognito is my FAV brand… especially the maxi mamas…. I used them after having my daughter and felt so nice… nothing got caught in the liner (hairs) and the cotton top made the sensitivity almost bareable… unlike other brands that use plastic liner tops… if you havent tried them yet.. I suggest to run and get some LOL

    • Thanks Terri, you’re the first to share your thumbs-up with Incognito! Given that it’s a “come-back” brand, I’m quite surprized to see the hit it has in some of the fringe stores. I know it’ll be a while (if ever), that they catch up with the “big 3” in Canada, but I’m sure they have a good market-share to keep them afloat, loyal customers such as yourself (and sometimes even me)! I don’t see the “mama” pads you’re talking about, do you mean the maximom ones? That’s a really good call since I’ve only tested the ones with the elastic edges and the maxi optimum one. I think it was unavailable at my local Giant Tiger even though I saw it on the Incognito site, however, I’ll check again next time I’m there! I’m literally within “running” distance to go there 😆 I’ll have to see when my girl’s have their period next and grab a pack 🙂

  1. Pingback: starting my own online business, need some pointers?

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Buying Imported/Foreign Maxi Pads(Sanitary Napkins) and Tampons « MEN in Menstruation -- Topsy.com

  3. Pingback: Do I Have Reason to Be Annoyed or Is It Just the Pregnancy Hormones?

Leave a comment